Skip navigation

No, not around my waist (although I really do have to step up the cardio and ab work ahead of the holiday later in the year). Having seen various videos of folks using tyres in their training I was inspired, so I popped along to a local scrap yard and got myself a nice shiny used tyre – well ok it was dirty, smelly and full of stagnant water but I was excited.

I initially hung the tyre from the ceiling with some sturdy chains and proceeded to give it a good hiding with my knives.

Unfortunately the swinging of the tyre meant that it wasn’t really working so I went to plan B. Armed with my trusty hacksaw and jigsaw I set to work cutting the tyre in half. All I can say is that it’s not a task for the feint hearted, the folks who make these tyres do a great job. Anyway I finally managed to get the thing cut through and mounted onto the wall and it was well worth it. Hours of fun to be had with the knives. I did a workout yesterday and the feedback through the blades is amazing when you really go for it. Not sure what the neighbours think as the impact makes the whole house vibrate. I’ll post a vid as soon as I can but for now here’s a pic of my new toy.

 

tyre for wing chun knife training

 

 

Leave a Reply

